I slept in till maybe 11am after the 4am conversation with Carly laid out in detail here.

What I remember from the morning is that I was trying to debate whether or not to still go up to Columbus for Scales’s birthday or not.

I got a call from Adam Karl and I have him the down low on the long conversation with Carly and as always he was incredibly supportive and validating and encouraging regarding the parts of the conversation that were still weighing on me which was mostly 1) Finding out that she had been texting New Guy every day for the last month of our relationship and had developed feelings 2) How different her lifestyle and behavior seems to have become 3) Hearing more specifics about how I wasn’t there for her like I should have been and 4) some discussion we had about her exploration into casual rendezvous.

It was nice to receive his support and process a but more, but reliving the hard parts of the conversation wasn’t fun.

Towards the end of the conversation I got a facetime call on the other line from Andrew H. Just as I’d hoped, his kids were calling to invite me over to play and stay the night. Feeling stressed from the last night’s call I knew that was exactly what I needed so I accepted right away since I would also be able to use the trip to still go to Scales’s birthday.

It was early evening by the time I actually got up there. It took them a slow 5 seconds to give me hugs and warm right back up to me again. We played blocks and house and had dinner with another couple that they were friends with. Nice people but we didn’t talk much directly mostly because I knew the inevitable questions and wasn’t going to start them down that path unless they asked.

After dinner was more chilling and playing. Kyria’s 13yo brother Aiden and I ended up in a conversation about dating and he ended up asking a handful of questions about Carly which I answered fully. At one point he was interested enough to put down his phone and moved very close to kneel right at the side of the chair with his elbows propped up on the arm rest. I’m guessing he doesn’t often hear such vulnerability from adults very often.

Not long after I was on my way and met up with Scales and his friends for his birthday. I got to see Kyle and Shelby there, and meet Billy’s brother, and a cute friend of Scales’s who was of course in a relationship. Still, it’s nice to meet very sweet and very cute girls and allow myself to fully feel attraction towards them and explore how and why I feel differently towards different people.

There wasn’t a lot of really memorable or meaningful conversation, but it was just good to be there with Scales and celebrate him in a friendly and warm environment.

It was a bit of a juggle, but the party wound down in time for me to go meet Chelsea and her friends out. She barely reacted at all when I found here so I wasn’t sure if she actually wanted me there. I decided to assume the best, sat down, and we ended up striking a pretty good conversation about her interest in gambling. I gave her and her friends a ride home since I only had 2 drinks the whole night and then got back to the Helmlingers around 2:30 to crash.

